• Peyia - Explore Your Dreams

Cyprus Municipaliies Union

Union Of Cyprus Municipalites

The Union of Cyprus Municipalities was established in 1981. Although membership is voluntary, all municipalities (33), covering 65% of the population of Cyprus, are members of the Union. The main purpose of the Union is to contribute to the development of autonomy of local government and act as a representative of the interests of local government, against the Government and other public agencies and organizations. It also takes an active role in the evolving relations between Cyprus and the European Union.

The General Assembly is the supreme head of the Union, which can decide and deal with all issues. The Executive Committee implements the decisions of the General Assembly. The President of the Union represents the Union before any authority, while the Secretary is responsible for the proper conduct of operations of the Union. President of the Union is the Mayor of Limassol Mr.Andreas Christou and Secretary is Mr. Athos Germanos.

The Union is a member of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR) and participates in the network LOGON (Local Governments Network) which is financed essentially by the European Union (INTERREG III C). It is also represented at the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of Europe (CLRAE) of the Council of Europe and the Committee of the European Union Regions.

PO Box 22033,
1516 Nicosia,

Tel: +357 22 445170
Fax: +357 22 677230
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
 OSYPA (Paphos Transport Organization)

Visit and Bet at Ladbrokes information.

Subrscribe to our Newsletter